All That Remains – Al Barrera

Apart from The Walking Dead Comics I haven’t read any Zombie/Apocalypse books. so I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about this book at first but the synopsis sounded so interesting I couldn’t not read it, and I’m so glad I did.

26539618

Synopsis:

The old world is dead, and humanity struggles to survive in the shadows of the new one. Kyle, Sara, and Tim are scavengers, hiding in the remains of human civilization from the hungry things that destroyed it. Living on the few items that haven’t rotted in the thirteen years since civilization was wiped out.

But something has shown itself: A terrible creature that betrays an intelligence in the madness of the creatures that rule the planet.

When the group finds Kaylee, a little girl who claims to know of a safe haven somewhere in Tennessee, they embark on a desperate journey to find it. Memory and loss, depravity and salvation— their last run will put them face to face with horrors of both man and monsters the likes of which they’ve never seen.

Review:

Firstly, I love the cover. Its so creepy. Also, the wonderfully written sinister quotes like this:

‘A few more soldiers in the army of the damned lining up to do their genocidal duty’

The originality of the story really blew me away. I expected it to be the basic zombie story – how the humans deal with ‘the end of the world’, etc.. But the characters and the zombies/monsters were fantastic. Each of the main characters had so much depth to them and were really well written. I loved the format of the narrative, the character’s memories and the jumps back in time made the story all the more vivid, they made you understand the characters motives and personalities. I felt like I really connected with Sara, Kyle, Tim and Kaylee. The monsters were also really well written. They were genuinely quite frightening, and as I said before, very original.

The plot was perfectly paced. I never got bored of reading it and I really didn’t want to put it down from start to finish. I cannot wait to read more and see what happens next!

I would definitely recommend this to fans of The Walking Dead or anyone who is skeptical about zombie literature (like me). This will change your mind!

 

 

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

5 thoughts on “All That Remains – Al Barrera

  1. I love a good, original zombie book as well! If you really liked this book, you may enjoy Ashes by Elsa J. Bick. It’s amazing. It’s a trilogy, which I love, and the take on zombies is unique and different. I haven’t read a story like it and I’ve read a few good zombie books in my day! Great review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

