I have been waiting for this book for months. It caught my eye on twitter back in June and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since. I finally got round to reading it and once I had started I literally could not put it down.

The Graces.jpg

Synopsis:

Everyone said the Graces were witches.

They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.

They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.

All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

Review:

Wow oh wow, just bloody wow. I knew The Graces was going to be good but I did not expect it to be THIS good.

Firstly, that cover! It is beautiful. Personally, I think that the US cover is better, but, all the same, it is certainly enticing.

I finished The Graces in two short sittings, unfortunately that pesky little bugger sleep got in the way halfway through. I genuinely could not put it down, something that hasn’t happened with me and a book for quite a while.

Immediately after finishing I popped over to Goodreads to add my five stars and read some of the reviews already on there. I couldn’t believe that some people had given it one star, um, what?! Did they read the same book as me?

I can’t comment on the apparent Twilight similarities because I haven’t read any of the Twilight books. But, I thought the characters were well developed and the plot was highly original and engaging. It was creepy and sinister in all the right ways and kept me guessing the whole way through. Seriously, at the end of each chapter I was like ‘Okay, I’ve definitely got it. I know what’s going to happen’, well actually no, I didn’t. A book that surprises and proves me wrong is my favourite kind of book.

The Graces is without a doubt the best Young Adult novel I have read all year. Everyone should go read it, right now.

 

 

5 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

