June Wrap Up & July TBR

I know I know, this probably should have been posted in like the first week of July. I’m really late, it’s probably not even relevant any more, everybody has moved on to their July reads. But, I’m going to share my June wrap up with you anyway! I’m also going to share some of the books I hope to read in July too! How very exciting.

 

June Wrap Up

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas 

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I wasn’t sure about this book at first, it seemed like it was missing something. However the more I read, the more I started to enjoy it. I’ve never read anything about faeries and such before, and I’ve always tried to steer clear but ACOTAR was a pleasant surprise. I really liked Feyre as the main character and most of the other characters too, some I would have liked more back story or development though. The creatures Maas creates are wonderful, each serving its own sinister purpose.

I found the story interesting, sometimes a little rushed in places (including the romance), but none the less it was a good read. I will definitely be reading A Court of Mist and Fury, which I have heard is much better than than A Court of Thorns and Roses.

 

The Ghost House – Helen Phifer

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really liked this book! The story was great, could have done with some more historical stuff – and maybe better editing – overall very enjoyable. Read my full review HERE.

 

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was actually a uni read. I’m trying to be really good this summer and read everything for uni during the summer, and not leave it till the night before the lecture like I normally do.

Although it was a uni read, I have been meaning to read The Great Gatsby for a really long time. Having seen the film, I thought the book might be ruined, it wasn’t. I really enjoyed it. It’s short and easy to read and really captured a beautifully tragic side to 1920s America.

 

The Girls – Emma Cline

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I was so blown away by this beautiful book. Definitely the best book I have read all year, maybe ever. Read my full review HERE.

 

In a Dark Dark Wood – Ruth Ware

⭐️⭐️⭐️

I made the mistake of reading Ware’s new novel – The Woman in Cabin Ten – before reading In a Dark Dark Wood. The Woman in Cabin Ten is amazing, truly truly amazing. In a Dark Dark Wood was good, don’t get me wrong, it just didn’t have the same oomph and wow as The Woman in Cabin Ten.

The story was really interesting and fairly original, some bits I found were pretty obvious, others were really surprising. Some of the characters I liked, some I didn’t. Overall it is pretty clear that it is Ware’s first novel. There was nothing wrong with it and as thrillers go it was a good read. It just wasn’t as good as The Woman in Cabin Ten. If I’d read them the other way round it would probably be a bit different!

 

My favourite Manson Girl – Alison Umminger

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was a really refreshing original YA read. Maybe could have done with some more about the Manson Girls (although the story is more about growing up than the actual Manson Girls). Read my full review HERE.

July TBR

SO.. I think I did quite well for June. Six books isn’t bad right? Well for July I’m attempting to read the same. Which is already not going to plan.

July TBR

Here is the list of books that I want to read in July.

Charles Dickens – Great Expectations:

Dissertation research and Reread, so should be quite easy to get through.

Anne Bronte – The Tenant of Wildfell Hall:

Also dissertation research. The story sounds amazing!

Sarah J. Maas – A Court of Mist and Fury:

Really excited to read this, I have heard great things! I’m also keen to know what happens to Feyre (and to find out what the massive hype is all about!)

Sarah J. Maas – Throne of Glass:

I keep seeing these books everywhere, it’s definitely time I read them.

Katherine Howe – The Physick Book of Deliverance Dance: 

I’ve wanted to read this for a long time, and I’ve only just got around to buying it. I believe it’s sort of a re telling of the Salem Witch Trials, sounds very interesting.

Paula Hawkins – The Girl on the Train: 

I have to read this soon. I keep putting it off, even though I have heard great things about it!

That seems like a manageable TBR right?

Well, here is my problem – I read Jane Eyre (not on the list) and then started reading A Darker Shade of Magic (also, not on the list). I am STILL reading A Darker Shade of Magic and it is the 14th July. I have not actually read anything on my TBR and really don’t think I will. I did the exact same thing last month too.. whoops.

 

 

 

One thought on “June Wrap Up & July TBR

  1. ACOMAF is one of the best books I’ve read this year, I think you’ll love it ! You haven’t read Throne of Glass yet ?! It’s one of my favourite serie, you seem to have a lot of catch up to do haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

